Alaska State Specific Strategies

Bookmark and Share

Chronic and Acute Medical Assistance program (CAMA) - CAMA is a state-funded program designed to help needy Alaskans with specific illnesses get the medical care they need to manage those illnesses. It is a program primarily for people age 21 through 64 who do not qualify for Medicaid benefits, have very little income, and have inadequate or no health insurance.

CAMA eligibility is limited to individuals with the following conditions:
  • Terminal illness
  • Cancer requiring chemotherapy
  • Chronic diabetes
  • Chronic seizure disorder
  • Chronic mental illness
  • Chronic hypertension