New Jersey Dependent Coverage

Bookmark and Share

A child covered as a dependent may choose to continue under a parent’s policy until reaching age 30.  The child must have no dependents, and must reside in New Jersey or be a full time student.  Eligible children under the age of 30 who lost coverage due to age in the past, but are currently without coverage, can also elect as a dependent under a parent’s plan, but must pay the same premium.

The child must pay the premium, which can be as much as 102 percent of the cost of covering a child under the limiting age.  This premium is approximately 60 to 80 percent of the single adult premium for a particular carrier. 

There are approximately 8,000 young adults with this coverage in the New Jersey commercial health market.  (Public Act 2005 c.375)